Deadbeat Heroes Coming to Xbox One & PC in October

Square Enix Collective has announced today that Deadbeat Productions’ Deadbeat Heroes, a brawling crime-caper set in a comic book-inspired world, will hit PC and Xbox One on Tuesday 10 October, 2017. Check out the trailer below, along with the rest of the press release.

Bringing together agile movement with awesome superpowers and a whole host of wise cracks, Deadbeat Heroes charges players with dodging bullets by leaping, dashing, wall-running, climbing and backflipping their way to victory.
 
The UK-based studio was founded by former Lionhead & Rockstar developers Adam Langridge and Imkan Hayati, with the two men having earned their stripes working on big name triple-A franchises before setting out to make a mark on their own.
 
“Deadbeat Heroes is an ode to 3D fighters everywhere,” offered Langridge, Director at Deadbeat Productions. “We wanted to create a modern, movement based brawler, one where the player fully utilises the world around them. There just haven’t been enough of these recently, so we decided put our heads together and push the genre forward.”
 
Deadbeat Heroes will launch with 40 levels, each one populated by an array of different enemies who can be tamed with movement based attacks and 9 over-the-top superpowers. With the ability to block attacks intentionally removed the result is a style of combat that encourages swift reactions and a focus on versatility.
 
“We’ve been heavily influenced by the kind of arcade beat-em-ups we both spent way too much money on in our youth, as well as the comic book aesthetic that was at its peak in the 1960s and 1970s,” added Art Director Imkan Hayati. “We think the result is some pretty darned unique gameplay. Basically, if you love brawlers but want a fresher take, Deadbeat Heroes should be right up your cel-shaded street.”
 
Square Enix Collective picked up publishing rights to Deadbeat Heroes back in March, with Phil Elliott – Director of Community & Indie Development at Square Enix London – claiming the game typifies triple-A talent being let off the leash.
 
“We’ve been excited about bringing Deadbeat Heroes to market ever since it first caught our attention,” said Elliott. “We think this is going to be the first ‘proper’ 3D fighter to make its mark for quite a while. It’s certainly one of the funniest and most colourful games we’ve worked with for some time, and fits perfectly with our goal to bring the most diverse and quality indie games to market.”

Deadbeat Heroes will launch at 17:00 BST (18:00 CEST / 9am PDT / 12pm EDT) on Tuesday 10 October, 2017 retailing on Steam at £10.99 (€14.99, $14.99).

About The Author



Gaming since the early 80's. Love survival horror and a real big fan of indie games!

Leave a Reply

xboxgamerreviews