Konami Announces Classic Anniversary Collections

As a part of its 50th anniversary, Konami has announced that it is to release the Arcade Classics Anniversary Collection, Castlevania Anniversary Collection and Contra Anniversary Collection for Xbox One, PS4, Nintendo Switch and PC (Steam).

The Arcade Classics Collection will release on 18th April, and will contain 8 ported games and an in-game book showcasing concept sketches from the development of these titles, which are as follows:


TYPHOON (also known as A-JAX)

NEMESIS (also known as Gradius)

VULCAN VENTURE (also known as Gradius II)

LIFE FORCE (also known as Salamander)




The Castlevania series follows the epic story of the Belmont Clan and their struggle with Dracula and his cadre of sinister minions. The Castlevania Anniversary Collection will contain titles from the series including Castlevania, Castlevania III: Dracula’s Curse, Super Castlevania IV, Castlevania II: Belmont’s Revenge with more to be announced. As part of the collection players can access an in-game Bonus Book that includes early developer notes and an interview with Adi Shankar, a producer on the animated series.

After more than 30 years since its debut, the Contra franchise has defined the run-and gun genre. The Contra Anniversary Collection will bring classic Contra titles previously released on arcade and console units including CONTRA (arcade version), SUPER CONTRA (arcade version), Super C, Contra III: THE ALIEN WARS and more. In the collection, fans can access an in-game Bonus Book documenting the history of Contra and see how the franchise rose to prominence over the decades and became the beloved series it is today. 

The Castlevania Anniversary Collection and Contra Anniversary Collection will be available to purchase Early Summer 2019. More information will be available soon including more titles to come, celebrating KONAMI’s 50th anniversary.    

About The Author

Gaming since the early 80's. Love survival horror and a real big fan of indie games!

Leave a Reply